Birthday Cake….

Birthday Cake

You may have heard it said that birthdays are just nature’s way of telling us to eat more cake. I don’t know how true this saying is, and frankly I don’t care about cakes or birthdays. But on my birthday this year, as strange as this might sound to you, someone surprised me with a personal cake for my birthday. This year is the second year in a row that I’ve had my birthday celebrated in the company of friends and family. I am not usually one for big mushy moments, so l sometimes find myself wondering why my friends and family are always secretly organizing these overly sentimental get-togethers and putting me smack dab at the receiving end of suspiciously warm and elaborate well-wishes. At any rate, the event was a rousing success and it helped remind me once more the invaluableness of genuine friends and a loving family.

As for that cake, it did not have an amazing evening I am sorry to say. Hungry souls devoured the cake no sooner than I had dropped the knife with which I cut the cake. All’s fair in a gathering of hungry but emotional birthday well-wishers, and they did justice to the cake and the food that were prepared on that day. If I am alive to see another birthday, I hope I can have some much needed peace and quiet. You know what? I think I’ll just skip town when the time comes. Why? There is a limited number of times I want to see close friends and family get misty-eyed and cheerful at the same time.  What about you? How did you celebrate your birthday?

Posted on September 18, 2012, in Gallery, Miscellaneous, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Emu… Cake does not mean the same thing it used to these days. Ask Rihanna.

  2. Lol cakes dont have any meaning.. even for me I hate cakes period! the last time I had a cake was at my 12th birthday and even then I didnt want it. But cakes are just blah!

  3. Hehehehe..such a colorful cake. That is exactly how the make and decorate cakes back home. lol… but it looks yummy. To bad it’s not chocolate, knowing u its yellow cake. Anyway, i didn’t get a cake for my bday. but i had me some brownies with milk. it was yummyyyy. Too bad it was not laced with weed…hehehehehehehe.

  4. Such a nice cake….most birthdays for me come and go without the noise level being raised. I surprised my office peeps this year by telling them at the close of work it was my birthday.

    I just see it as a day to reflect, thank God for his mercies and look to a more productive year(s) ahead.

  1. Pingback: My Birthday…or whatever you may call it…. | The Write Stuff

What Are You Thinking About This?

